Red Velvet Shorbread

Source: Recipe Girl, Lori Lange

When I found this recipe it was something I had to try. I love red velvet, and I love shortbread, so of course I thought I’d love this cookie! After making them though, I felt there was something missing, I just couldn’t put my finger on it. However when I shared them with some of our friends and our families, everyone thought they were great. Maybe my taste buds were off, or maybe I had just eaten too much holiday baking for one year. I may try them again, but add in a little more butter. This was suggested to me by Corey’s sister, a trained chef, and the person who answers all my cooking questions! 

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups All-Purpose Flour
1/3 cup White Sugar
2 tbsp Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1/4 tsp Salt
1/2 cup Butter, cold, cut up into chunks
1 tbsp Red Food Coloring
3 ounces White Chocolate, with cocoa butter, coarsely chopped
1 1/2 tsp Shortening
Festive Sprinkles 


Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 325°F. In a food processor, combine flour, sugar, cocoa powder, and salt. Cover and process with on/off turns until combined. Add butter and red food coloring. Process with on/off turns until mixture resembles fine crumbs. Then continue to process until mixture begins to clump together.
*I used the hand-mixing method: In a medium bowl, stir together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, and salt. Using a pastry blender, cut in butter and food coloring until mixture resembles fine crumbs and starts to cling together (it will take a while for the dough to come together). Form mixture into a ball, kneading until smooth.
2. Scoop dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead lightly until nearly smooth. Roll or pat dough to a 1/2-inch thickness. Using a floured 1 1/2-inch round cutter, cut out dough. Place cutouts 1 inch apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Press scraps together and re-roll.
3. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until centers are set. Transfer cookies to a wire rack, let cool.
4. In a heavy small saucepan, melt white chocolate and shortening over low heat, stirring constantly. Or melt chocolate in the microwave, in 30 second bursts, stirring after each.
5.Dip half of each cookie into melted chocolate. If desired, sprinkle with festive sprinkles, nonpareils or chopped pistachios. Let stand on waxed paper until set.

 

Leave a Reply

